

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Sheila Beard welcomed everyone - called to order at 8:05 pm

1. **REPORT OF NOTICE OF MEETING** –the Notice of Meeting was sent to all clubs, coachs and board members on December 17, 2019. The meeting postponement notice was sent on March 13 and the notice of the rescheduled meeting for September 15 was sent August 12, 2020 via e-mail. (By-law 9D)

2. REPORT AS TO QUORUM

Board Members 8 Sheila Beard, Will Cobbet, Ross Ashbourne, Chris Li, Natalie Doroshenko, John Mattatall, Tanya Guilderson & Joe Jacobsen (joined later)

Clubs – 9 Sam Bates – Bridgewater, Dana Young Truro, Karen Roberts Canso, Kim Kehoe Kentville, Beth Norwood SMB, Carolyne Haverstock Bedford, Heather Boutilier Halifax, Erin Dove Greenwood Shaula Shand Shelburne, joined later Norm Amirault Queens

Observers – 6 Coaches, Jenn Harvie, Cheryle Gaston Wendy Stewart, Clara Moran, Stephanie Steele, Official Rozanne Raine

3. MINUTES OF THE LAST ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

MOTION: THAT the minutes from the 2019 Annual General Meeting be approved as circulated.

Moved by: Chris Li Seconded by: Ross Ashbourne Carried.

4. **REPORTS**

The following reports were circulated via e-mail:

Skate Canada Nova Scotia Section Chair and Executive Director – Sheila Beard & Jill Knowles Governance – Natalie Doroshenko Officials – Tanya Guilderson Skater Development – John Mattatall

MOTION: THAT the annual reports are approved as circulated.

Moved by: Natalie Doroshenko Seconded by: Tanya Guilderson Carried.

FINANCIAL REPORT

MOTION: THAT the Financial Report be approved as circulated.

Moved by: Chris Li Seconded by: Sam Bates Carried.

CONFIRMATION of ACTIONS by the BOARD of DIRECTORS

MOTION: THAT the actions taken in 2019/2020 by the Board of Directors be approved.

Moved by: Ross Ashbourne Seconded by: John Mattatall Carried.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Sheila reported nominations were as follows:

Chair	Sheila Beard - acclaimed
Members at Large	1) vacant
	2) vacant

All positions are for a 2 year term. Our constitution does not allow for nominations from the floor.

MOTION: THAT the nominations be accepted as presented.

Moved by: Norm Amirault Seconded by: Ross Ashbourne Carried

COMPETITIONS

In February 2020 a notice was sent out requesting bids for 2020-2021 competitions, after the cancellation of the AGM in May the notice was sent out again in June. The competitions were awarded and notice sent out by email in August. On September 3 the SCNS Board

held a special meeting and the decision was made that given the safety concerns and facility restrictions competitions would be suspended for the remainder of 2020 with a review in November of the situation for 2021.

The remaining competitions for consideration are:

STAR 1-3 January 16th 2021 hosted by the Halifax and Bedford Skating Clubs Robert McCall Memorial February 5th to 7th 2021 St Margaret's Centre hosted by the SMB Star Provincials February 20th & 21st 2021 Amherst Stadium hosted by the Amherst Skating Club

STAR 1-3 March 14th 2021 Sackville Sportsplex hosted by the Sackville Skating Club Skate Canada Atlantic Skating Championships March 2021 Paradise Newfoundland

NEW BUSINESS

Open call for any agenda items, questions, comments, etc.

Cheryle Gaston asked about Skate Development and the long and short term goals and if they were available. As soon as the long and short term goals are set they will be communicated to the membership, but as this year is still very much in flux, that is proving to be a more difficult process as all situations need to be considered.

INTRODUCTIONS

Introduce the 2020 - 2021 Skate Canada Nova Scotia Board as

Ross Ashbourne	Past Chair and Awards
Will Cobbett	Vice Chair
Chris Li	Secretary/Treasurer
Natalie Doroshenko	Member at Large - Governance
John Mattatall	Member at Large – Skater Development
Tanya Guilderson	Officials Chair
Joe Jacobsen	Coaches Rep

Sheila thanked everyone for taking the time to attend the meeting.

ADJOURNMENT

MOTION: THAT the meeting be adjourned at 8:22 pm Moved by: Chris Li

Jill Knowles, Executive Director & Recorder

Sheila Beard, Chairperson